Economic Development Committee


The mission of the EDC will be to seek to improve the community’s quality of life through an expanded local business base that respects and contributes to Paxton’s community character and improves the economic well-being of all its residents.

Economic development policies will seek to create local servicing of resident’s needs, increased local employment opportunities, and other benefits that have been identified by the community.  Paxton will seek to create a supportive environment for local businesses and mutually supportive relationships among businesses, residents, and Town government.

Economic development efforts will be planned to avoid or mitigate impacts that would detract from Paxton’s character and rural setting.  Business development and expansion should contribute to community life and serve community needs, fit in Paxton’s small town setting, be environmentally friendly, not strain local service capacity, and build upon and foster Paxton’s special attributes, which include:

  • Small rural atmosphere
  • Route 56, Route 122, Scenic Byways, and easy access to Worcester
  • Open space and undeveloped land
  • Low tax rate and affordability
  • Proximity to business activity in Worcester and neighboring communities.


Seven voting and two non-voting members, to include:

  • 4 Town Business Owners (Agricultural/Farm; Retail; Home Office; other);
  • 2 Residents
  • 1 Planning Board Member (Ex-Officio)
  • 1 Town Administrator (Non-voting)
  • 1 Finance Committee Member (Non-voting)


Study of Current Businesses in Town – completed by June 30, 2023, to include:

  1. Compiled list of all businesses (in home/store fronts) in Town
  2. Surveys and Interviews of all business owners, to include, at minimum (years in town, what is going well in Paxton, what roadblocks that have ran into)
  3. Survey of Town’s residents to include what services they purchase in Paxton, what services they purchase in near by towns, what services they wish to see in Paxton.

Board Members

NameTitleTerm Expiration
Savvas Kosmidis



Esi Alexia Kodra

Vice Chair


Lisa Davenock



Darlene Walsh



Michael Roberts



Caitlin Cournoyer



Member (non-voting)


Jeremy Richard

Finance Committee Rep (non-voting)


Vacant Position